December 09, 2022
tami sin youtube  twitter facebook

    Sri Lanka to establish 10 Botanical Gardens

    July 28, 2014

    The Department of National Botanical Gardens has taken steps to establish ten botanical gardens in the island within the next two years in Sripada, Knuckles, Horton Planes, Sinharaja, Ratnapura, Nuwara Eliya and Ambagamuwa for each distinct bio diversity zones.

    Recently, the government opened the fourth botanical garden of the island after 137 years and for the first time after the independence. The new botanical garden, Mirijjawila dry zone botanical garden, built on 300 acres of land at Mirijjawila in Hambantota district is the biggest botanical garden in Sri Lanka.


    A botanical garden is now being developed in Avissawella in a land of 105 acres with the aim of conserving threatened wet zone flora. An herbal botanical garden is being built in Ganewatta in Kurunegala. (ST/KH)

    dgi log front