September 28, 2022
tami sin youtube  twitter facebook

    Sri Lanka Parliament felicitates World T20 champions

    April 10, 2014

    The Sri Lankan Cricket Team was felicitated at a tea party in Sri Lankan Parliament.

    The Sri Lankan Team cricket team led by Lasith Malinga was invited to the Special Guests' Gallery of Parliament by the Speaker.Government and Opposition Members in order to pay their tribute to them for becoming the T20 World Cup Cricket champions, beating India by 6 six wickets in last Sunday's finals played in Dhaka.


    The House took up the Vote of Appreciation moved by Leader of the House and Irrigatrion and Water Resources Management Minister Nimal Siripala de Silva on behalf of the government as per the consensus arrived at the party leaders meeting.


    This victory is memorable as it has helped further strengthen bonds and has further united the Sri Lankan nation as one family, setting aside ethnic, religious and other differences said the Leader of the House ond Irrigation and Water REsources Management Minister Nimal Siripala de Silva.


    Acting Opposition Leader John Amaratunga: I extend the wishes of the UNP to the Sri Lanka Cricket team on behalf of the party leadership, at this special moment.


    With the proposals and views of Government as well as Opposition Parliamentarians, the Vote of Appreciation was adopted in Parliament under the patronage of Speaker Chamal Rajapaksa.


    Thereafter a tea party was held to felicitate them at the Parliament.

     criket Team 2
































    criket Team 3

    criket Team 4

    criket Team 5

    criket Team 6

    criket Team 7

    Last modified on Thursday, 10 April 2014 11:01

    dgi log front