September 26, 2022
tami sin youtube  twitter facebook

    North win football gold as West take lead with 207 medals

    October 27, 2019

    Western Province with an overall tally of 206 medals (78 gold, 63 silver and 65 bronze) are in front on the second day of the 45th National Sports Festival in Badulla yesterday.None of the athletes were able to even reach their personal best performances due to wet conditions.Meanwhile Sabargamuwa Province came up with flying colours to bag the gold medal in the 4X100 relay registering a time of 41.77 seconds in the final.The women’s 4X100 gave Western Province the gold to add another medal to their tally of 207 in a time of 48.41 seconds.

    Northern Province, with a superlative performance, defeated the much fancied Southern Province 4-0 in the final of the football decider for the gold.Northern players went ahead in the 30th minute of the game and held on the lead until the short whistle and landed the balance three goals in the second half. In the morning session six finals in athletic events were worked off with Western Province athletes winning the Pole Vault (men), Shot Putt (men) and Discus (women). Though these athletes won in their pet events none of them were able to achieve their personal best due to wet ground conditions.

    The 800 metres for men was won by Southern Province’s CR Chathuranga while the women’s event was won by KGDMS Kumarasinghe of Central Province. Chathuranga had a time of 1.53.34 while Kumarasinghe clocked 2.10.26. Women’s triple jumper from North Western Province Hashini Prabodha had a leap of 12.62 metres to take the gold.The body building contest too was completed yesterday under nine weight categories from which Central Province won five contests to take major honours while Western and North Western had to settle for silver and bronze medals.

    Athletic results:

    800m Women: 1. KGDMS Kumarasinghe CP (2.10.26), 2. WPER Dulakshi SP (2.11.14.), 3. NMC Dilrukshi (2.11. 85)

    800m Men: GR Chathuranga SP (1.53. 34), 2. C. Aravindan UVA (1.54.54), 3. BRST Bulugahapitiya CP (1.54.83)

    Shot Putt Men: 1. WSM Fernando WP (15. 44m), 2. Samitha Jayawardena NWP (15.27m), 3. AID Perera WP (14.26m)

    Triple Jump Women: 1. Hashini Prabodha NWP (12.62m), 2. KAT Lakshani NWP (12.19), 3. GRSP Karunanayaka SGP (11.70)

    Discus Throw Women: PAI Madurangi WP (40.89m), 2. AGVY Lakmali NCP (40.45m), 3. Maneesha Dilrukshi SP (38.24)

    Pole Vault Men: 1. Eranga Janith WP (5.50m), 2. A. Pauvitharan NP 94.50m), 3. HANG Samarasinghe NCP (4.40m)


    long bannar

    Latest News

    dgi log front