May 27, 2019
tami sin youtube  twitter facebook

    Ven. Panditha Ratmalane Sri Dharmarama Nayake Thera remembered

    December 04, 2018

    The centenary commemoration ceremony of the late Ven. Panditha Ratmalane Sri Dharmarama Nayake Thera, the second Parivenadhipathi of the Peliyagoda Vidyalankara Pirivena was held at the Vidyalayankara premises from November 29 to December 2, with the participation of a large numbers of the Maha Sangha and the laity.

    Concurrent to the ceremony, a group of over 100 bhikkhus went on a Pindapatha round Kelaniya town on November 29. Other highlights included an exposition of relics of the Buddha from November 30 to December 2, a series of daily dhammadesana, donation of artificial limbs to disabled persons, and award of scholarships to a group of young bhikkhus.

    Kelaniya Rajamaha Viharadhipathi Ven. Prof. Kollupitiye Mahinda Sangharakkitha Thera opened the exposition of relics on November 30, while Bellanwila Raja Maha Viharadhipathi Ven. Bellanwila Dhammaratana Thera opened the exposition on December 1. Former Defence Secretary Gotabhaya Rajapaksa offered the first Mal Pahan pooja.

    Former President Mahinda Rajapaksa presided over a ceremony to mark the issuing of a Dhammarama commemorative stamp on December 2. The former President presented the two first day covers bearing the new stamp to Kelaniya University Vice Chancellor Ven. Welamitiyawe Kusaladhamma Thera and Ven. Niyangoda Vijithasiri Anunayake Thera of the Malwatte Chapter.

    The scroll bearing the honorary title Wansalankara Sasana Kirthi Sri Abhidana was presented to Ven. Medagama Dhammananda Thera, Lekhakadhikari of the Asigiriya Chapter and Vice President of the World Buddhist Congress by Ven. Prof. Welamitiyawe Kusaladhamma Thera. The honorary title Bhasha Shastra Shiromani was also presented to Prof. K. N. O. Dharmadara of the Peradeniya University. The theme lecture was delivered by Prof. Asanga Tillakaratne of the Colombo University. Ven. Niyangoda Vijithasiri Anunayake Thera chaired the commemoration meeting.

    Ven. Kotuwila Wimalakiththi Thera, Viharadhipathi, Wanawasala Purana Viharaya, presided over the prize and certificate awards ceremony and delivered the main lecture.

    The Maha Sangha led by Ven. Kusaladhamma Thera and the Dayaka Sabha had a special word of thanks for the President and the Post Master General Ranjith Ariyaratne and Channa Munasinghe for arranging the issue of the commemorative stamp.


    dgi log front