September 30, 2022
tami sin youtube  twitter facebook

    New envoys present credentials to President Featured

    January 21, 2020

    Four new ambassadors along with a new High Commissioner concurrently accredited to Sri Lanka presented their credentials to President Gotabaya Rajapaksa at the President’s House in Colombo yesterday (20). The ambassadors of the State of Qatar and Republic of Turkey as well as the Pakistan High Commissioner will be based in Colombo. The ambassadors to the Grand Duchy of Luxemburg and Slovenia will be based in New Delhi.

    After the presentation ceremony, welcoming the delegates the President spoke of strengthening bilateral relations and expanding on areas of common interests such as education, development, technology and agriculture. The new diplomats also expressed their commitment to uphold the long ties their countries had had with Sri Lanka and work with Sri Lanka to develop on the common interests as mentioned by President.

    Foreign Minister Dinesh Gunawardena also spoke and noted that Sri Lanka always had maintained cordial relations with all five countries.

    The envoys who presented their credentials today are:

    Mr. Jassim bin Jaber J.B. Al-Sorour
    Ambassador- designate of the State of Qatar based in Colombo

     Mrs. Rakibe Demet Şekercioğlu
    Ambassador- designate of the Republic of Turkey based in Colombo

    Major General (Retd) Muhammad Saad Khattak
    High Commissioner- designate of the Islamic Republic of Pakistan based in Colombo

    Mr. Jean Claude Kugener
    Ambassador- designate to the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg based in New Delhi

    Dr. Marjan Cencen
    Ambassador- designate of the Republic of Slovenia based in New Delhi

    Last modified on Tuesday, 21 January 2020 09:52

    dgi log front