April 12, 2021
tami sin youtube  twitter facebook

    Commonwealth Team wins Anton Muttukumaru Trophy 2021

    April 08, 2021

    The annual cricket match for Major General Anton Muttukumaru Trophy between the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade (DFAT) and the High Commissions of Commonwealth countries based in Canberra teams was played at the Forestry Oval, Yarralumla.

    The Commonwealth team comprising players from Bangladesh, India, Pakistan, New Zealand, Sri Lanka, South Africa and the United Kingdom won the trophy. DFAT won the toss and sent the Commonwealth team to bat. Commonwealth scored 139 runs in 20 overs. The DFAT team was all out for 109. The Commonwealth team was led by Senarath Dissanayake and the DFAT team was captained by Shashi Samprathi.


    Jointly organized by the Sri Lanka High Commission, the Royal Commonwealth Society (RCS) and the DFAT this friendly, charity event, first organised 55 years ago, promotes cooperation between DFAT and the High Commissions of cricket playing Commonwealth countries. This year, the proceeds of the charity will go to ‘Suwa Sewana’, a vocational training centre for differently abled female adolescents, located at Seruwavila in the Eastern Province of Sri Lanka. Charities are determined on a rotation basis between the three organisers.


    First Assistant Secretary of North and South Asia Division of DFAT Gary Cowan was the special guest at the trophy presentation ceremony. President of the ACT Cricket Association Olivia Thornton, Diplomats, the President of the Royal Commonwealth Society Kantilal Jinna and son of the Late Major General Anton Muttukumaru, Anton (Tony) Muttukumaru Jr were also present.


    Messrs Gary Cowan, Tony Muttukumaru, Kanti Jinna, and the Acting High Commissioner of the Sri Lanka High Commission Senarath Dissanayake addressed the gathering.

    Last modified on Wednesday, 07 April 2021 21:41

    dgi log front