January 19, 2020
tami sin youtube  twitter facebook

    Party Leaders Call for Nominations for the Select Committee

    January 13, 2020

    The Parliament Party Leaders and Political Party representatives meeting held today, (13) decided to call for the nominations for the Committee of Selection of the fourth session of the Eighth Parliament Accordingly, the Speaker has informed the Party leaders and political party representatives to submit their nominations before 3.00 pm on Thursday (16) to the Secretary General’s Office. The relevant proposal is scheduled to be included in to the Order Paper due on the 21st of January.

    According to Standing Order 114 of the Parliament, a Committee shall be appointed at the beginning of each Session as a Committee of Selection under which the matters pertaining the appointment of Members of Parliament to serve in other Committees will be decided. The Committee of Selection shall consist of the Speaker who shall be the Chair and twelve Members which shall include the Leaders of political parties or their nominees to be nominated by Parliament at the commencement of each Session.
    The Parliament also decided to meet on January 21st, 22nd, from 1.00 pm to 6.30 pm and on January 23rd and 24th from 10.30 am to 6.30 pm.
    Nine regulations under the Fisheries and Aquatic Resources Act, three regulations under the Construction Industry and Development Act on the 22nd, Four orders under the Fauna and Flora Protection ordinance on the 23rd are scheduled to be debated along with the vote of condolence of late member of Parliament Hon. Ranjith De Zoysa, scheduled for the 24th of January.
    The meeting was chaired by the Speaker of Parliament Hon. Karu Jayasuriya and was conducted with the presence of the Leader of the House, Dinesh Gunawardena, Chief Government Whip Johnston Fernando, the Leader of the Opposition Sajith Premadasa, MP Ajith P. Perera, MP Lakshman Kiriella and MP Ravi Karunanayake.



    dgi log front