July 21, 2024
tami sin youtube  twitter facebook
    Media Releases

    Media Releases (123)

    Issuing media release the Department of Government Information says that the Government of Sri Lanka  refute the fake rumour that government had given permission to hold so called Maaveerar commemoration and emphasis the fact such permission was not been granted any occasion

    Commissioner General of Elections/Director General A.P.C.P. Perera announces that the meeting with the District Returning Officers and District Deputy/Assistant Commissioners of Elections which had been scheduled to be held on 15th November 2018 and the meeting with political party secretaries and permenant5 Representatives, which had been scheduled to be held on 16th November 2018 are postponed indefinitely.

    Some organize groups attempt to spread fake propaganda saying that the government is trying to dissolve the parliament.The government emphasis that it completely deny this fake and baseless rumours

    From the Inception, 42 prorogue instances were recorded in the parliamentary history of Sri Lanka. Accordingly from 1947 to 1978, 21 and from 1978 to up to date, 21 instances were reported. The parliament of Sri Lanka was begun under the patronage of the Governor His Excellency Sir Henry Monek – Mason Moore, on October 14th 1947. The first session was prorogued on January 31st 1948 for 10days.

    The Department of Government Information says that false and misleading propaganda are being spreading all over the country by various parties and various types of organized groups with the intention of deteriorating the National Unity and understanding. In this situation, the Government urges the General Public to act with proper understanding without being misguided by this false and baseless information

    Department of the Government Information states that on the order of President Mairthripala Sirisena, Sanath Weerasuriya and Shantha Bandara Jayawardena have been appointed as chairmans to the National Film Corporation and to the Salasine respectively.


    President Maithripala Sirisena has Appointed today, G.S.Vithanage as Secretary to the Ministry of Transport and Civil Aviation.

    The Ministry of Health, Nutrition and Indigenous Medicine Denys the Media reports saying that the Ministry has been sealed.

    MPs Mahinda Samarasinghe and Keheliya Rambukwella have been appointed as the government spokespersons, Acting Director General of Government Information, Nalaka Kaluwewa announced this morning(29th).

    The Office of the cabinet announce that the president, as head of the cabinet of Ministers has drawn his attention to the news item published by the printed and Digital media today on matters discussed in the meeting of the Cabinet of Ministers held at Presidential Secretariat yesterday (16th October ) and the cabinet office completely deny facts stated in those news Items.

    Page 9 of 9

    dgi log front